Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: Saint-Saëns’ Organ Symphony

Handel Zadok the Priest
Saint-Saëns Danse Macabre
Poulenc Gloria
Saint-Saëns Symphony No.3, ‘Organ’

Conductor Jean-Luc Tingaud
Soprano Elin Pritchard
Organ Jonathan Scott
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Northampton Bach Choir

To celebrate its 70th Anniversary, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra will join forces with the Northampton Bach Choir for a concert of orchestral and choral masterpieces. Opening the concert in regal style will be Handel’s Zadok The Priest; performed at every British coronation since 1727, this piece ceremoniously opens with layered strings before bursting with choral joy.

The concert will then take on a distinctly French flavour with Saint-Saëns’ devilish Danse Macabre – recognisable as the theme from the TV series Jonathan Creek – and Poulenc’s Gloria for which the outstanding soprano Elin Pritchard joins the Orchestra.

Saint-Saëns’ grand ‘Organ’ Symphony closes this Autumn concert. From the brief and haunting introduction to the layered brass finale, this piece soars to the heavens.

We are delighted to welcome back BBC Radio Northampton’s John Griff as the host of our hugely popular free pre-concert talks. It will take place at 6.30pm in the auditorium prior to the evening’s performance.

Buy a ticket package for this mini season of world-class music and enjoy 15% off ticket prices – call Box Office to book.

Nov 16
Time: 7.30pm
Venue: Derngate
Duration: Approx 90 mins
  • Pre-show talk