Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: Russian Masters

Borodin Prince Igor: Polovtsian Dances
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.2
Mussorgsky A Night on the Bare Mountain
Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio Espagnol
Khachaturian Spartacus Suite No.2: Adagio
Tchaikovsky 1812 Overture

Conductor Grzegorz Nowak
Piano Ivana Gavric
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Join the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for an afternoon of outstanding and powerful classics from a host of Russian masters, including Tchaikovsky, Mussorgsky and Rimsky Korsakov.

You will be riveted as Mussorgsky’s A Night on the Bare Mountain swirls forth with its nightmarish quality that inspired Walt Disney to include it in Fantasia. Packed full of dark and dramatic themes, this piece contrasts to Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio Espagnol, with its joyous Spanish folk tunes.The concert opens with Borodin’s commanding Polovtsian Dances from his Prince Igor opera, followed by Rachmaninov’s sublime Piano Concerto No.2, performed by Ivana Gavric.

Khachaturain’s Adagio from his Spartacus Suite No.2 soars and swells with a Hollywood-esque confidence before this quintessentially Russian concert draws to a close with Tchaikovsky’s iconic 1812 Overture. The perfect way to spend a spring afternoon.

We are delighted to welcome back BBC Radio Northampton’s John Griff as the host of our hugely popular free pre-concert talks. It will take place at 2pm in the auditorium prior to the performance.

Buy a ticket package for this mini season of world-class music and enjoy 15% off ticket prices – call Box Office to book.

Feb 17
Time: 3.00pm
Venue: Derngate
Duration: 120 mins