RPO: Mariam Batsashvili Performs Liszt

Kodály Dances Of Galánta
Liszt Piano Concerto No.1
Tchaikovsky Symphony No.4

Conductor Alexander Shelley
Piano Mariam Batsashvili

The RPO’s Principal Associate Conductor Alexander Shelley conducts Kodály’s five-movement suite, speckled with Hungarian folk tunes and dancing rhythms. Next up is another of Hungary’s greatest composers, with Liszt’s First Piano Concerto. Listen out for the twinkling triangle during the Scherzo, the skittish opening and richly romantic ending.

The opening fanfare of Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony follows with fierceness and anguish alongside luscious melodies and swelling optimism. This is a work that will stir the senses.

RPO Newsletter
To keep up to date with the RPO’s work and events, click here.

Nov 18
Time: 7.30pm
Venue: Derngate
Duration: TBC