Royal Philharmonic Orchestra: Elgar’s Cello Concerto


VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
ELGAR Cello Concerto
ROSSINI The Italian Girl in Algiers Overture
MENDELSSOHN Symphony No.4, ‘Italian’

Valentina Peleggi Conductor
Jamal Aliyev Cello

This concert is a perfect marriage of English and Italian orchestral favourites. Featuring two Classic Hall of Fame works, Vaughan Williams’ melancholy Fantasia on a Theme By Thomas Tallis suitably sets the scene before Jamal Aliyev takes the stage to perform Elgar’s most beautiful cello concerto.

Mendelssohn’s buoyant and cheerful Symphony No.4, ‘Italian’ closes this concert with panache and flair; a charming expression of how Italy made him feel. This concert feels lush and soulful, with a generous dose of energy.

Pre-concert Talk
Join BBC Radio Northampton’s John Griff for a free Pre-Concert Talk with Valentina Peleggi at 2pm

Subscribe and save!
Book more shows in our Orchestral Season 2019/20 and save up to 25%. Click here for more information.

Click to learn about subscribing to our Orchestral Season 2019/20
Nov 19
Time: 3.00pm
Venue: Derngate
Duration: 120 minutes including an interval